University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Launched in 2007, the Carolina College Advising Corps helps low-income, first-generation, and underrepresented students across the state find their way to colleges that will serve them well. By placing well-trained, enthusiastic advisers who are close in age and circumstance to the students they serve, the program aims to increase college-going rates at rural and urban high schools across North Carolina. During the 2016-2017 school year, 51 near-peer advisers are serving students in 71 partner high schools throughout the state.

Image by: Ildar Sagdejev

How to Apply

Contact the Program Director

High Schools Served

Asheboro High School, Randolph County

Beddingfield High School, Wilson County

Ben L. Smith High School, Guilford County

Bertie High School, Bertie County

Caldwell Early College High School, Caldwell County

Cape Hatteras Secondary School, Dare County

Chatham Central High School, Chatham County

Cochrane Collegiate Academy, Mecklenburg County

Dalton L. McMichael High School, Rockingham County

East Surry High School, Surry County

Eastern Randolph High School, Randolph County

Elkin High School, Surry County

Fairmont High School, Robeson County

Farmville Central High School, Pitt County

Fike High School, Wilson County

First Flight High School, Dare County

Garinger High School, Mecklenburg County

Graham High School, Alamance County

Granville Central High School, Granville County

Harding University High School, Mecklenburg County

Hertford County High School, Hertford County

Hibriten High School, Caldwell County

High Point Central High School, Guilford County

Hillside High School, Durham County

Hugh M. Cummings High School, Alamance County

James B. Dudley High School, Guilford County

John Motley Morehead High School, Rockingham County

Jordan Matthews High School, Chatham County

Lexington Senior High School, Davidson County

Manteo High School, Dare County

Mount Airy High School, Surry County

Nash Central High School, Nash County

North Edgecombe High School, Edgecombe County

North Rowan High School, Rowan County

North Surry High School, Surry County

Northern Vance High School, Vance County

Northwest Halifax High School, Halifax County

Phillip O. Berry Academy of Technology, Mecklenburg County

Polk County Early College, Polk County

Polk County High School, Polk County

Purnell Swett High School, Robeson County

Reidsville High School, Rockingham County

Roanoke Valley Early College High School, Halifax County

Rockingham County Early College, Rockingham County

Rockingham County High School, Rockingham County

Rocky Mount High School, Nash County

Rocky River High School, Mecklenburg County

Salisbury High School, Rowan County

Southeast Halifax High School, Halifax County

South Caldwell High School, Caldwell County

South Central High School, Pitt County

South Robeson High School, Robeson County

South Stokes High School, Stokes County

Southeast Halifax High School, Halifax County

Southern High School, Durham County

Southern Vance High School, Vance County

Surry Central High School, Surry County

Surry Early College High School, Surry County

Tarboro High School, Edgecombe County

Thomasville High School, Davidson County

T.W. Andrews High School, Guilford County

Vance High School, Mecklenburg County

Walter Williams High School, Alamance County

Warren County High School, Warren County

Warren County New Tech High School, Warren County

Weldon High School, Warren County

West Caldwell High School, Caldwell County

West Charlotte High School, Mecklenburg County

West Mecklenburg High School, Mecklenburg County

West Stokes High School, Stokes County

Our Donors

Blanche & Julian Robertson Foundation

College Advising Corps

Edward M. Armfield Foundation

Reidsville Area Foundation

Rockingham County Education Foundation

Sisters of Mercy of North Carolina Foundation